Ellen and I have visited our grandparents in New Jersey for as long as I can remember. During every trip we would go into NYC and see a show on Broadway. Well, Grandpa gave me a little spending money for this trip so I felt it was only appropriate that he treat Ellen and I to a show for our last night together. We saw The Curious Incident of The Dog in the Night-Time and it was wonderful. For anyone who doesn’t know the story line, it is about a boy who has autism and his journey to find the murderer of the neighbor’s dog Wellington. The show was thought provoking, emotional and full of incredible actors.

img_2649

We were almost late to the show  because we ran into the red carpet premier of Fantastic Beasts. While I was distracting the security guard Ellen snapped some pictures and I am almost positive we saw JK Rowling on the jumbo tron.  After the show we walked around Covent Garden and enjoyed live music and the newly lit Christmas tree. We shared a chocolate peppermint milk shake from Shake Shack. Honestly, no matter where you are in the world Shake Shack is always the right move.

img_2650

img_2641

 

I woke up yesterday morning and headed out for my trek home . During my first flight I reflected on my past month. A lot of people have been asking me what the highs and the lows of my trip were. Well, my favorite part was without a doubt the incredible people that I have met along the way. From Rosa to Tim and so many others, you made my trip so memorable and impacted me in ways that I cannot explain. My least favorite part was the weather in Saint Petersburg. It was blisteringly cold and snowy, but I guess it wouldn’t be Russia if I didn’t experience the snow. Thankfully, Paris and London have been warmer than Saint Petersburg and as I come home I am coming home to even warmer weather.

I wanted to thank everyone who made this trip possible for me. Rabbi Rob, my parents and Kevin for always pushing me to follow my dreams and aspirations of traveling the world and helping others. Colleen Lyons, Rachel, Kate and Alex Gant for their incredible itinerary making skills and travel fun facts. Colleen Ross for her incredible hospitality in Paris and to Alex Davis, Kailyn and Ellen for being incredible roommates and travel partners.

пока, au revoir, bye

Robin

